The Contemplative Titan

 

Prometheus stood there atop the precipice, peering out with a contemplative concern towards Daniel Daedalus, his path will be trodden and tough, but he knows the young man will not give up. Once he makes his way through the labyrinth there is no stopping him. He will not cower, for he will stand firm like a strong tower. Loosening his gaze from the young man, the old titan returned to the throne on Mount Olympus to meet with the Mighty Zeus, lawgiver and master legislature. He governs more by might than by right, but he can be reasoned with, or so say the myths.

 

              “My lord, forgive me. I’ve been busy fulfilling this heavy deed. What is it that you ask of me?

 

              “I’ll never understand why you care for their worthless welfare. Why do you meddle in human affairs? You teach the young man about virtue and wisdom, but who would dare care to listen to him? He’s weak, lost, and meek. You’ve chosen a very unlikely champion. When he fails to succeed you know what must be done. I thought you were wise, but you’ve proven your own demise, fool!”

 

              “The man is not weak. I’ve already guided him in the ways of the Greeks. He has reverential potential. All I ask for is patience. In time he will unlock his heart and mind. He’s found focus and clarity, that must come first, next will come balance, followed by drive. Once he finds drive his true potential will be realized. He will be unstoppable, even unbreakable.

 

              “Old titan, you have crafted some intention you stash well hidden. Reveal to me your prudential plan of the young man. Make me understand!” The king of gods commanded with a clap of thunder rumbling from behind the titan.

 

“Now come, walk with me,” Zeus ordered, they then walked and talked in the starlit night sky, and then Zeus gave a heavy sigh.

 

“This mortal must stand firm against the horrors of existence then,” Zeus said. “I have grave reservations about his preservation.”

 

               “It’s a heavy burden indeed. I will sow the seed, and once he sprouts you will see.” 

 

“What about the girl?”

 

              The old titan put his strong hand on Zeus’s broad shoulder and moved forward. The god of foresight then whispered something into the king’s ear. “… It is the only way for him to have the drive for him to finally realize what his life is amounting to, my lord.”

 

              “Tread lightly,” Zeus said darkly. “Hear my heed, if anything goes unexpected then your time to will come. Never forget what I did before. I was merciful once, never test me again.”

 

              “Merciful Lord, how could I ever forget,” Prometheus said, then bowed to hide the face of a titan enraged.

 

The god of foresight then left the counsel of Zeus to stand at his thinking rock, on the precipice of earth. Even a contemplative god must step down into rough waters of the world sometimes, getting their hands dirty when they are called by some force of nature to do so. Zeus has become much like everything he fought against in the great war against his father. Meanwhile, Prometheus has refined and redefined himself so to stand firmer and see clearer than ever before. He’s thought, now history begs him to act. 

 

“Daniel Daedalus, cherish these days for one day there will come a time when you will fight a beast the likes of which you’ve never met. I’ve placed my bet, but this is your story, your quest. I can only show you the way, It’s up to you whether you weather the forces or wither away”

 

 

 

To be continues…

 

Leave a Reply

